Incognito mode is a mode or privacy feature available in some web browsers that disable browsing history and the web cache. This helps a person to browse the Web without storing data that could be seen or retrieved in the future. Now, Google Chrome supports erasing the record of what you visit and download by allowing you to browse the web in incognito mode.
To go incognito, click More
Image source: BrowserNative
Incognito mode runs in a separate window from your normal Chrome browsing sessions. To exit incognito mode, you will need to close all incognito windows. You can switch between an incognito window and any regular windows you have open. You will only be in incognito mode when you are using the specific incognito window.
You can also install extensions if you don’t like to keep opening and closing the current tab or window in an incognito mode all the time. Chrome web store gives you options like Incognito This Tab and Open in Incognito.
In case you want to visit the past website details later, the downloaded files will be saved to your computer’s Downloads folder. You can see and open them, even after you close your incognito tabs.
Incognito mode only works as a barrier for Chrome from saving your website history. It will not stop other sources like your ISP, the admin of your work computer etc, from seeing your browsing activity.