Google is Simplifying the Warning Message on Chrome’s Incognito Window

Google Chrome’s warning message on the Incognito window is well known for being slightly funny, and bit more ironic when the Prism leaks came out. A recent bug report on the Chromium code suggests that Google will soon simplify this message and get rid of those bullet points.

The current message reads:

You’ve gone Incognito. Pages that you view in this window won’t appear in your browser history or search history and they won’t leave other traces, like cookies, on your computer after you close all open Incognito windows. Any files that you download or bookmarks you create will be preserved, however. 

Going Incognito doesn’t affect the behaviour of other people, servers or software. Be wary of:

  • Websites that collect or share information about you
  • Internet service providers or employers that track the pages you visit
  • Malicious software that tracks your keystrokes in exchange for free smilies
  • Surveillance by secret agents
  • People standing behind you

Learn more about Incognito browsing.

The bug report shows removal of the bulleted items which includes the infamous “Surveillance by secret agents” line. The new suggestion limits the message to:

Going incognito doesn’t affect the behavior of other people, servers, or software, mostly, but will retain the the first paragraph and the “Learn more..” link.

Another developer has suggested a modified version of this sentence which reads:

Going incognito doesn’t protect you from websites, malicious software, or nosy network administrators. It just keeps your history clean!”, keeping the friendly tone.

No, you don’t get to vote!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.